Oklahoma Book Award

Elegy for Trains has been awarded the 2011 Oklahoma Book Award for Poetry.

This award is given annually by the Oklahoma Center for the Book, a state affiliate of the Center for the Book in the Library of Congress, and honors one book each in five categories (poetry, design/illustration, children/young adult, non-fiction, and fiction) either written by an Oklahoman author or addressing a subject directly relevant to Oklahoma.  
Here are the past winners in poetry:
1990: Wiliam Kistler
1992: Carol Hamilton
1993: Jim Barnes
1994: Carter Revard
1995: Joy Harjo
1996: Francine Ringold
1997: Renata Treitel
1998: Betty Shipley
1999: Mark Cox
2000: N. Scott Momaday
2001: Carolyne Wright
2002: Ivy Dempsey
2003: Joy Harjo
2004: Laura Apol
2005: Francine Ringold
2006: Leanne Howe
2007: Carl Sennhenn
2008: Sandra Soli
2009: Nathan Brown
2010: Jeanetta Calhoun Mish